Why can’t I programme?!

And those of you who know of my decided lack of passion for programming will laugh at that question!  When I embarked on the BIT course, I had no idea what was involved and what would be covered in the course.  But I think I had vague notions that I might make a reasonable programmer. WRONG!  I hated spending hours trying to research for answers for one lousy line of code!  Now I think of vacuuming and programming in the same way – a chore that has to be done, that I really don’t want to make time for and don’t enjoy, but I do get a sense of achievement and accomplishment with the end result.

So, I decided to see what skills and characteristics are needed to make a good programmer; things I obviously don’t have in abundance!  I took a test on TestQ and was bemused to be told that “maybe you shouldn’t be working with computers at all”.  How rude!

TestQ

There were a set of skills that didn’t really surprise me much, such as:

  • A logical/analytical mind to solve problems
  • A team player and good communication skills
  • Adaptability and an openness to new and different approaches
  • Excellent memory
  • Solid and wide ranging programming skills and knowledge of techniques
  • Ability to apply those skills/techniques to suit the situation
  • Sound knowledge of your tools so that you can do it seamlessly and without thinking
  • Enjoy challenges
  • Attention to detail
  • Good reading skills and comprehension (for those hours of researching programme ‘stuff’!)

OK – so I have some of those skills don’t I?  And I’m sure, if push came to shove, I could learn how to use Visual Basic adequately and hone my non-existent programming skills/techniques…… but I still doubt that I would be anything other than an adequate programmer!   What I was really interested to learn was ‘what makes a really good programmer’ and I found the following traits:

  • Passion for programming (count me out!)
  • Curiosity
  • Imagination
  • Thinks “details” but sees the big picture
  • Continually learning

And I love what John Somez had to say about learning in The 4 Most Important Skills for a Software Developer:

“There is probably no more important skill in life than learning to learn.”

I think I’ve proved over the last couple of years that I have, at least, done that!  But, for all you really good programmers out there – I have to admit that I am slightly in awe of you! 🙂

Sources

What Makes Great Programmers Different?

Seven traits of effective programmers

Top 4 qualities of a good software developer

10 traits to look for when you’re hiring a programmer

The 4 Most Important Skills for a Software Developer

 

 

About Caroline Wood

Currently studying for a Degree of Information Technology at NMIT in Nelson, New Zealand
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why can’t I programme?!

  1. Kasun says:

    You are not alone Caroline, I’m following the same route… 🙂 No passion for programming..

  2. Caroline Wood says:

    But your passion is networking and you will be a great ‘networker’ – both with people and with computer networks!

  3. Caroline Wood says:

    Patrick – your comment in class about the use of programme versus program intrigued me. I had always assumed that they were interchangeable depending on whether you had an “English” English background or an American “English” background. But, the more common use for English English is programme for events and performances etc, but program when related to computers http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/programme Interesting! Thanks for pointing out the errors of my ways!

  4. I understand your frustration here! I am ‘battling’ to code up anything useful in a language called Oz that I am currently playing with.

    But I’m not playing with Oz to become a great Oz-coder. Oz is a multi-paradigm (largely academic) language that gives me the opportunity to experience various programming styles all within the same environment. So while I am not good at ‘coding’ Oz, I am a better ‘programmer’ for the time I have spent with Oz (if that makes sense).

    I think programming is conceptual. I am a big picture person, so I love programming. I think software development is about producing something useful – this isn’t entirely me, I love the journey, not the destination. When in the ‘coding’ space (this is what I call the code-side of software development) I share your frustrations. I very quickly get bogged down in the syntax and become bored and frustrated.

    Knowing you, and some of your amazing skills, I see you as an exceptional “programmer”. You could be an amazing solution architect – leave the syntax to someone who likes that stuff!

    p.s. I really like your RES blog – thanks 🙂

  5. Caroline Wood says:

    Oz code – isn’t that +61?!
    Thanks for your vote of confidence! Mmmmm – a solution architect? Bringing together people and technologies and platforms to reach the objective? I don’t see myself as a “big picture person”, tending to focus more on detail. But, having said that I think I can see the big picture, but with a frame around it. I not sure that I can look to the horizon beyond the frame! But I’m always prepared to listen to what others say and adjust.

    One day I’d like to dabble with programming more, but feel I need to spend a concentrated amount of time to get to grips with it and not have other courses, all equally as foreign to me, getting in the way! And I’m sure once you get “into it” the syntax (should be a four letter word!) becomes second nature.

    And glad you like my blog – I enjoy writing it 🙂

Leave a comment